any shortcuts to "cooking" raw please

rawforhealthrawforhealth Raw Newbie

I am transitioning to raw and having a very hard time finding the energy to constantly do chopping, blending, etc and it seems like even the simplest of meals is taking me a very long time due to prep.

does anyone have any shortcuts they use to prepare stuff before hand (I am not good with planning ;) ...

thanks for any help!

Comments

• RawKidChefRawKidChef Raw Newbie

Well, for things like purees, creams, pastes, and doughs, you do need a food processor or blender. Most nut milks need a blender. Most cookies, breads, and dry snacks need a dehydrator, but if all your ingredients are dry you can just freeze the cookies, but it’s a lot easier to have a dehydrator. Chopping usually is done to make raw food prettier, but s far as taste is is usually irrelevant. Like, you could just break some carrots into a salad versus the grating or chopping. A salad you just rip apart some lettuce, sprinkle with dressing like the simple olive oil and red wine vinegar dressing, top with your favorite tidbits like chopped tomatoes (easy to chop), mushrooms, vegetables, etc.

• beanybeeganbeanybeegan Raw Newbie

Two good tools. Food processor and a hand chopper. The other is a VERY sharp knife. Where you are new to uncooking it will take longer but after awhile it will come easier to you. It will benefit you if you do acquire the habit of planning. Lastly, remember we have been trained that everything should be fast. Enjoy this new lifestyle. Meaning don’t stress.

• rawforhealthrawforhealth Raw Newbie

thanks for suggestions!!! when using a blender or food processor…if you are making multiple things at a time…don’t you have to clean out both each time? my food processor is a big pain to clean, to say the least. How do you get around that? i guess there’s no way ;)

• blueyzblueyz Raw Newbie