Juicing vs Blending

Still being relatively new to raw roods, I have read that I should juice greens in the am, and that I should blend. Which is more appropriate? Is there a difference in the nutrient value that I get? I am an athlete and have been noticing a HUGE decrease in my muscle mass( becoming a little looser:-) than normal!). I just want to make sure that I am doing this right!

Comments

• I’m no expert, but I believe the jury is still out on this one. if you juice, you can maximize the amount of greens/fruits you consume before feeling full. The downside is that the juice must be drunk immediately to get the nutrients. Blending preserves the nutrients better, but the fiber will fill you up pretty fast.

That’s all I really know. I would say that blending is better, it is the way nature intended food be eaten, with fiber and all. Although, if for some reason you’re having trouble getting all your nutrients then juicing would be an easy way to do that.

• The closest to the way nature creates the food is the best. Blending is far better than juicing but eating the whole food is even better because blending causes some oxidation as the food gets exposed to the air. Juicing is not recommended for fruits or carrots or beets as there is too much sugar in the juices without enough fiber to help it digest slower. It is too much of a sugar shock to the bloodstream requiring a spike in insulin.

• I like blending. Juicing takes too much money. 8 oranges for 2 cups of orange juice is insane.

• raw_earthraw_earth Raw Newbie