Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Taste buds?

I'm somewhat new to Raw and I absolutely want to continue in this journey.

But I'm desperately wondering: are my taste buds going to change? Some foods I eat are absolutely hard to swallow. I mean, it tastes terrible at times--and I try and pick out recipes I think I'd like! And when I don't like them, I wonder if I ever will. So...will I?

fingers crossed!

Comments

• joannabananajoannabanana Raw Newbie

my tastebuds are definitely more accepting to the new foods i've tried. i used to HATE almond butter and avocados while i was eating primarily cooked vegan food, but now i love them. mainly avocados- soo darn good. even zucchini pasta and butternut squash taste so good to me and i thought they would be disgusting eaten raw.

you definitely won't crave the same things you used to. i used to crave icing all the time (delicious, i know) and now my cravings are for bananas and dates.

• waterbaby12347waterbaby12347 Raw Newbie

Dr. Oz says you have to taste something at least 10 times before your body enjoys it, if it didn't at first... So uncross your fingers and keep eating the recipes you are making and one day, you will love the things you never did before... Oh happy day!!!!

• Things will "grow on you"- give them time... I'm sure it's different for everyone, but I've found if I eat something I don't like very much when I'm really hungry, it tastes OK, and then the next time I try it, I actually like it. Main point- don't try to down something you don't like if you're not really hungry or not in the mood, or you will only reinforce not liking it.