Hi!

Hello everyone, my name is Carita and I'm a 19 year-old student living in southern Finland.

(and I'm so sorry for my imperfect English! I hope you can make something out of it ;) )

I feel so relieved for finding this forum, and I'm quite sure it'll be a lot of help during my journey to the raw food diet :)

I wanted to share a little about my background also, to explain a little bit about the reasons behind my decision to go raw.

A few years ago I suffered from anorexia nervosa. My lowest weight (and point) was 92lb at the height of 5'4. I wasn't really ever admitted to hospital, but I was nowhere near healthy either. My heart rate was extremely low from over exercising and restricting. I was completely out of this world, I was very depressed and mentally ill, I've figured it had a lot to do with my brain not capable to function with the little nutrients I gave to my body.

Well, this lasted for nearly 2 years and I'm overly grateful for my quick recovery, mostly due to the support of my family, lots of therapy and my amazing and loving boyfriend.

However, my recovery at first wasn't an easy time for me. Having survived on fruit and vegetable based diet for 2 years, I went completely crazy when I started to introduce new, earlier "forbidden" foods to my diet. I gorged on every junk food I could get my hands on: ice cream, tacos, candies, cookies, white bread, chips... My eating disorder took completely new course, and I began to slide to bulimia. I was more depressed than ever, gained huge amounts of weight and felt miserable.

Thankfully my crazy eating behavior lasted only for 4 months, but still thinking about that time makes me want to cry.