Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Front yard and Community Gardening

Hey, in these hard economic times as well as in flow with the Green movement I've been hearing more and more about people gardening. I personally have been gardening my whole life but this is my first year doing front yard gardening. Also, a couple friends and I started a community garden for all the people around our neighborhood to come together and grow things.

I noticed that when I gardened in front(couldn't in the back because of no sun) that the people walking past, or even driving past interact alot with me and it's been incredibly fulfilling. Of course the super fresh, sun warmed and organically grown fruits and veggies are the biggest bonus.

Anyone else doing gardening this year? What have your trials and successes been? We can all learn here!

Comments

• Hey troublesjustabubble!!

We are gardening this year. Woo-Hoo!!! Tons of cucumbers (we love to juice those babies) Tons of Basil (two different varieties. Growing enough to freeze, so I can have pesto in the winter), Beets, dill radishes, lettuces (I am currently addicted to Oakleaf lettuce - Love the Stuff! :)), Spearmint, Avocado trees have sprouted and are taking off. chives, tomatoes

You get the picture. Having a blast! Just received the Lasagna Gardening book for Mother's Day

from my Mother. So Sweet!! Loving the book!

Since we do not have enough yard space where I am located, we grow our produce in pots and 5 gallon buckets. Was having a brief problem with the slugs, but nipped that in the bottom. Sprinkled some sand around my plants (especially the lettuce), then picked up some cedar shavings at the pet store. Came back home and put that over the sand.

Slugs No More!!! Yippee!!!

EDIT: