Juicing/Blending

I am new to eating raw and juicing. I have tried juicing Kale but find that not much juice comes out. Is this normal? Has anyone ever just blended all ingredients together instead of juicing? I just need some helpful tips for this! Thank you!

Comments

• powerliferpowerlifer Raw Newbie

Depending on the juicer not much juice comes out for many vegetables. Strong greens such as kale are meant to be the small additions to juice.

I prefer juicers that keep the fibres present as it doesnt provide a pure fructose hit to the liver which has been shown to contribute to fatty liver disease. The fibre is what slows down the absorption of the sugars/carbs. So id say in this case blending them as a smoothie is better unless you have a juicer which retains the fibre or are adding a fibre source to the juices:).

Also to note that many raw vegetables such as kale, broccoli contain goitrogens which interfere with thyroid function.

• So basically I can use a blender and get better results since it keeps all the fiber?! I think cleanup would be easier as well using a blender versus my juicer!!!! You mentioned the greens give little juice - that is normal? What about mixing fruit with vegetables? Is that still beneficial? I read a book about food combination so I'm all confused when it comes to the smoothies! I like using apples with my veggies because it sweetens it up!

Both are good but only if the juice retains the fibre like i say. So if yours doesnt i would say blending is a better idea.

Yeah green vegetables such as spinach, kale all produce minimal juice compared to say lettuce. Strong greens such as spinach are only meant to be a part of a juice rather than the bulk of it.

• If you want the benefits of eating a lot of green leafy veggies without actually eating them (or juicing them) you can try freeze-dried wheatgrass juice powder. It's raw and helps you stay pretty full afterward.