Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Non-nut base for the cookies?

I had a look at the cookies recipes, and most of them use nuts as the main component. I was wondering if it’s possible to use seeds or something instead of nuts?? Also, is it possible to get something close to flapjacks? :) Thanks!

Comments

• ahhh yes i posted something like this a while back and didnt fare too many responses…. i guess oatmeal would be okay? im not sure if thats 100% raw…. seeds would be great… how about something else?? anybody? i did a google look up for raw flour and came up with quite a few websites but no pictures of the actual thing.

• Morning_theftMorning_theft Raw Newbie

I think sunflower seeds should work pretty well.

• Sprouted quinoa and amaranth would be great, sprouted buckwheat, or other grains, or grated coconut work well.

• Thanks writeeternity for the tips. I’m new to raw food. I am a bit scared of sprouting that i will do something wrong. The only thing i was doing recently is soaking… would is the best way to sproute grains???

Thanks

• StefunkStefunk Raw Newbie

www.sproutpeople.com has a lot of useful sprouting information. I’ve read and re-read it all and still haven’t done it myself though! Today’s the day:)

• Here’s my tried and true technique. Soak ___ (whatever you’re soaking) in an airtight jar for the amount of time it needs. Most raw uncook books will have a soaking/sprouting chart. Put it in a plastic strainer. Put the strainer in another bowl, put a towel over the strainer and place under your sink. Take the beans/grains/seeds out about 3 times a day and rinse them off. They will sprout! Its kind of neat, like a science experiment in your kitchen:) Good luck!

• i use ground flax and chia seeds as an alternative to nuts. works great, still high in protein (and omegas)- but not quite as heavy/oily- at least so it seems to my stomach. :)