Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Pasteurized Almonds?

I’m new to the Raw way of life (and new to this site), but I’m loving it so far. At any rate, in my quest for raw almonds, I came across some info saying that raw almonds are now steamed in order to pasteurize them. Is this true and if so, does it make a difference? It seems that it would. Where does everyone get their almonds (cheap, fresh, unsteamed)? Thanks!

Comments

• DelphineDelphine Raw Newbie

Hi Casserole (Lisa),

may this link be helpful to you:
    http://tinyurl.com/2mhbej

this company: Living Tree Community still sells raw almonds until the end of their stock. I think highly of their products. If you are or anybody else is interested in ordering from them, feel free to let them know that I refereed you. Jesse is the President & Cervrine is the sell manager.

Wishing you the very best.

• Raw_ChocoholicRaw_Chocoholic Raw Newbie

There’s a place in Naramata, BC which sells raw nuts. I don’t remember what they’re called but their prices are supposed to be good.

I’ve also been looking into dwarf fuit/nut trees? Anyone heard of them or have any thoughts?
    Here’s an article I found which got me interested:
    http://www.motherearthnews.com/Organic-Gardenin…

• elizabethhelizabethh Raw Newbie

the company livingnutz also still sells raw almonds

• Thanks everyone for your thoughts and ideas. So, for a follow up question, can they still sell/label them as “raw” even if they have been pasteurized? Thanks again!

• elizabethhelizabethh Raw Newbie

yes, unfortunately they can, and they do.

• DelphineDelphine Raw Newbie

Hi Casserole,
    re: can they still sell/label them as

• queenfluffqueenfluff Raw Newbie