What do you all do when winter comes?

Im usually 90% during the summer, with some very long stretches of 100% raw throughout the warmer months. But once winter hits, I feel my body almost goes into shock if I dont have hot foods.

The hot foods I do eat during this time are whole food soups. Like lentil soup, potato and tomato, vegetable, etc. All from scratch.

This winter I really want to try to stick to being as raw as I can, any suggestions?

Comments

• heyenglishheyenglish Raw Newbie

This is my first year of being raw, so I haven’t actually experienced being raw during winter yet. Of course, it really doesn’t get that cold in Georgia, hehe. I’ve read these suggestions though:

Spicy Foods Adding flavorful “heat” to a dish can really warm it up, temperature-wise.

Gentle Heating If you have a dehydrator, make a dish and place it in there for an hour, just to warm it gently. Or place in an over on the lowest temp with the door cracked for a little while. Or, if you’re making soup, process it a little longer (2-3 minutes) in your blender so it heats up a little or pour it into a pan and heat it gently on the stove, using your finger to stir it. Never let it get too hot to touch.

Herbal Tea This technically isn’t raw, but I still like to enjoy herbal tea every now and then. I don’t drink it for any nutritional value, I just enjoy it for what it is. I just check that the ingredients are all-natural herbs/fruits/roots and that it’s caffeine-free.

• Yeah, I was wondering this too! There are also not quite as many local, organic greens and veggies to be had in the winter… how does that work?

• CarmentinaCarmentina Raw Newbie

I freeze my ass off and snuggle up tight! Actually I make few smoothies, but those I do have I make with ingredients that are at room temperature, not from the fridge, so they don’t chill me to the bone.

• jellibijellibi Raw Newbie

mmm, warm almond chai

• Paxton SquiggledyPaxton Squiggledy Raw Newbie

Ditto what Carmentina said.