Marathon training & Headaches

So, I’m training for my first marathon and doing mostly raw vegan (sushi/raw fish, raw goat’s milk cheese, and beer are things I include occasionally) for the first time also. I’ve been eating raw since I started training and since I’ve been doing training runs over 8 miles (we did 14 last weekend), about 3-4 hours after my run a headache starts to build and it steadily gets worse and lasts for 10-30 hours (despite natural & homeopathic remedies, and even, when it gets really bad, advil). Although I’ve gotten migraines before, these headaches don’t have the visual weirdness and nausea I normally get with migraines, though I do get a little light/sound sensitive with these ones.

I’ve checked my hydration during runs and I’m doing fine—I drank about 32 ounces of water and 12 ounces of coconut water this last long run and ate about 3 tablespoons of my home made goo (almond butter, dates, banana, sea salt).

I eat heavy-ish (w/o stuffing myself, of course!) two days before the long runs (larger than normal green smoothie, lots of fruit, avo & a bit more nuts & seeds or nut/seed based foods) and I eat normally the day before. I eat whenever I get hungry after I run (this weekend that was about every hour!).

Possible contributing factors I’m considering: 1) Not getting enough sleep before or after runs (answer: more sleep! Easier said than done, but perhaps this is the simplest solution?) 2) Possible vertebrae misalignment (answer: chiropracter?) 3) (I hate considering this one) Eating mostly raw (I don’t want to change this, but have to look at it, I think.)

Does anyone have experience/advice with eating raw, marathon training, and headaches?

Thanks!

Comments

• bittbitt Raw Newbie