Kombucha mold problem

Hi, I’m new, but I am not good at intros so I am starting right in with questions.

I was recently given HUGE Kombucha culture. I peeled it apart in to five starts, set aside three and made two batches. After about five days of brewing as expected both of them started to grow mold on the surface.

I am going to try again, but I am asking first for suggestions on how to avoid mold next time. Also can I use the starts that I was using in these moldy batches or do I need to throw them out? The mold is only on the surface where a new culture is forming, not on the culture I put in to start, which sunk to the bottom.

Comments

• cascadia, I had the same problem with my Kombucha, did some online research and found some advice. This one site suggested using white vinegar in a spray bottle to kill the mold on top. I did this with my Kombucha and the mold disappeared. I haven’t tasted the brew yet, but it seems to be growing well, and from all other research, I don’t think you have too much to fear with small amounts of mold that die with vinegar acid. I could be wrong, but I’d fear bacteria (like listeria!) over mold.

Good luck and let me know how it goes. Do you have a warming plate for your Kombucha. I live in Canada and with the climate here, I am thinking that I may need to invest in one.

• “I’d fear bacteria (like listeria!) over mold” Good point. I have never really been overly concerned about mold. It has gone a bit far too just kill it with vinegar so I just pulled out the new cultures which removed all the mold and I think I am going to just let it brew for a while more then go for it. Hopefully it wont kill me, lol.

I don’t have a warming plate, but the temperature is pretty moderate where I live and I don’t think it will be necessary.