Fats and Eating Disorders

Ok, this is somewhat of a sensitive topic and I have debated posting this but how do those of you who have, or have had eating disorder issues deal with eating nuts, seeds and avocados that you know are high in fat or fruits, veg and oats that you know are high in carbs?

I am new to being raw and am used to eating virtually no carbs and also avoided nuts because of the high fat content. Yes, I know its the good kind of fat, as is avocado but its the whole ‘fat’ word and what goes with it. I made myself a lovely granola yesterday with a variety of nuts and dried fruit and some oat porridge the morning before but then had to deal with the fact I had eaten it and immediately reached for the laxatives as I couldnt deal with the fact I had fats and carbs in me. :-(

Has anyone else had this issue and how did you deal with it? I am paranoid of putting on any weight.

Comments

• What’s 811?

• I believe 811 is a raw food diet thats about eating 80% carbs from sweet fruit and some greens 10% protein and 10% from fat. (I don’t have the book I’ve just read about it online) 811 isn’t the only raw food diet-and while I think there’s lots of good stuff about it, and also pointing out that I certainly don’t know enough about it to say thats it is ‘the best’ raw food diet [if that even exists…] I want to point out that moving towards a diet like that because of one’s disordered eating pattern that results in a fear of eating fats and carbs and not because you feel that it is the best diet for your body will just cause waay more trouble in the long run and be really unhealthy emotionally and mentally.

While it is important to realize what EDs do to your body, I don’t believe that having a negative motivation for ones recovery will do much good.