Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

A vegan diet that is very high in fat cannot be good, right?

I am very new to eating mostly raw, non-processed foods. Actually, for most of my life, I ate quite the opposite. I made the change a month ago and decided to switch to a vegan, mostly raw lifestyle. It has been going well so far, besides one exception. I eat completely raw almost every day, which means that I eat an abundance of fruits, vegetables, but also nuts and oils because I feel very tired if I do not consume enough protein. I have heard of people who choose to omit the "legume" and "oil" groups who do just fine, but I'm not one of them.

The problem I am having is balancing my diet. When I try to get all my calories from fruit and vegetables (I try to eat between 1200-1600), it just doesn't happen. When I incoorporate nuts and oils into my daily intake, my calories are fine but over 40% of them end up coming from fat. According to most nutritional guidelines, 40% of fat is bad, even if you expend more calories than you consume, and even if you are eating wholesome foods that are healthy. I am currently taking a nutrition class and the books keep saying that, without exception, fat should be consumed in amounts no greater than 20-35% of your daily caloric intake. I consume as much as 50% sometimes when I eat completely raw. Is this really that bad? What can I do to lower my fat intake? What else can I do to enchance adequacy and balance in my diet? What are some other foods I can eat besides nuts (which are really convenient when you go somewhere you can't eat but get hungry and need a snack)?

Thanks! As of now, I am very confused as to how I should be eating.

Comments

• rawcanadianrawcanadian Raw Newbie

Maybe check out the 80 10 10 diet, which is 80% carbs 10% protein 10% fat.