Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Favorite "no gadget ", low-fat recipes

I am fairly new to raw and I work graveyard shift at a nursing home. I have my fave smoothie recipes and salads, of course, but I would like some new ideas for quick, east packing, energizing "lunches". I don't have ANY fancy equipment, just a blender and a juicer and I'm planning on staying that way for now...simple and fresh.

Comments

• ...that's easy packing!

• PamPam

I like collard wraps. Trim the middle stem, roll them burrito style for neater packing, and wrap tightly in plastic. Spread on either cheese sauce (for which you'll need a blender) or guacamole (no blender required). Top wth your favorite veggies. I like sprouts, carrots, onions, mushrooms (marinated or not), tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, dates or pineapple, mint leaves or cilantro. Collards are nice and sturdy.

• carrie6292carrie6292 Raw Newbie

Mmmm.... one of my favorite wraps is from Ani Phyo's book. Take some sun dried tomatoes, raisins, fresh dill and some pine nuts. Mix with a litle salt and olive oil. Wrap in a collard. So easy and absolutely delicious!!!! Everyone i serve these to loves them - raw or not! I make the wraps as I eat them. This so far is the easiest meal to pack and eat on the go...

• beanybeeganbeanybeegan Raw Newbie

If you want low fat you may want to make the zucchini hummus, good in wraps.

• SuasoriaSuasoria Raw Newbie

If salads are boring you, call it a slaw - slice everything as thin as possible, and add a sweet/sour or sweet/spicy dressing.

I like red cabbage sliced as thinly as possible, onion or fennel ditto, spiralized or matchstick-cut beet or carrot, diced tomato, basil or cilantro, sesame seeds with ACV, agave, and a dash of red pepper flakes. Sub your favorites, the goal is to get thin, thin thin strips of everything and make the dressing crisp and tangy.