Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

How to store produce for longer

Newbie here (and a male, on top of that) - so expect lots of stupid questions. I always try to search first and post only after it didn't yield anything.

I have a feeling this must have been asked before but I could not find anything.

I have been working for the last 2 weeks on going 100% raw - been a vegetarian for a few years now. Bought a lot of organic produce this week - they sure aren't cheap. Now I am worried that I cannot finish them fast enough and they are going to go waste. Are there any tricks to storing them so they last longer? Can I chop them and freeze them - would they still be considered raw?

I am looking for a long term no-stress solution. I don't want to worry about what produce is going to rot and what I should consume in what sequence and stuff like that.

Comments

• ZemphiraZemphira Raw Newbie

I had that problem as well when I first started (less than 2 months ago) and one thing that really has helped me is to try and make a list of recipes and/or meals for the week before I go grocery shopping. That way, I'm only inclined to purchase what I need.

Now I know that sometimes, certain produce (e.g. red peppers) go on sale and I might be inclined to stock up a bit, so what I ended up doing was buying some

Debbie Meyer Green bags which seem to help extend the life of some of the produce. Freezing things you're not planning on using soon is also an option, you just really need to plan ahead and pull things out if you're going to use them soon.

I hope this helps, I'm sure some of the more experienced folks can give you more advice. Welcome and good luck!

• Some vegetables and fruits you can also dehydrate before they go bad and use later .

Also storing vegetables that have some roots in a little water as 'pot-plants