Is there something I should know about being raw and pregnant?

Hi all,

I was wondering if I should be aware of maybe what I should include daily or what things I should eat while pregnant. I am new to this way of life and am concerned as to whether I will “get enough” to accomadate me and baby. Thank you—Missa

Comments

• Hi Miss Amber! I would try to eat sprouted lentils for the folic acid and collard greens for the calcium. Fenugreek seed (from the spice section or sprouting section at whole foods) is supposed to increase milk production. It can be sprouted too. If you can find these they would be interesting for kids to sprout because they smell like maple syrup.

Foods with lysine are supposed to help with pain and healing. It is most commonly found in meat and dairy though. Papaya, apricot, avocado, collard greens, and beets are higher in it than arginine.

Human milk has a lysine arginine ratio of 1.5 to 1. Whereas cow milk has 2x the lysine to arginine. Avocados are really close to the human milk ratio which I think is the ideal percentage. Fruits and super grains are close to this as well but nuts are higher in arginine which can throw someones body off balance.

Sesame milk is a good thing to consider drinking for the calcium. Tahini for dips and dressings, and halva for desserts.

Of course there is a lot of info relating to this but this is something I thought you may not have heard of.

FLAX SEED: Nature’s most abundant vegetarian source of Omega 3 fatty acids, vitally important for strength in the heart and arterial walls, lowering cholesterol, reducing high blood pressure, diminishing insulin requirement acuity, brain development, adrenal function and sperm formulation. Flax Seed is the richest known source of “lignans”, a constituent of fiber that promotes anti-tumoral, anti-viral, anti-bacterial, anti-fungal and antioxidant effects in the body.