Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Would like some recommendations/suggestions/advice?

Hi everyone. I'm after some raw recipe help!

Here's my background......... In some ways I'm new to raw veganism, in some ways I'm not (I've been reading up on it on the net for a couple of years now and trying it out, but never seem to be able to stick with it long term due to busy lifestlye, lack of money and inconsistent motivation/will power) I am already a vegan, though not a very healthy one, something I would like to change. I was first drawn to raw veganism because I found that I had trouble digesting some foods like grains (even whole grains, and especially flours - even though I used the healthier gluten free flours and avoided all 'white' flours like white rice flour & all purpose GF flour) I also wanted to eliminate sugar from my diet, and all processed foods. I did not really have a a problem with cooked things, though I now believe foods closest to their natural state are healthier, I still don't really see cooked things as 'bad'. I've found that a lot of raw recipes are really high in fat, I know that a lot of raw fooders are not phased by this but I am. I view fat as more of a condiment. If I eat too much I don't feel well. I also felt that a lot of typical recipes had a lot of special ingredients/superfoods, which may be healthy but I don't believe they are worth the money and believe that people can be healthy with more local ingredients, no supplements necessary. I then discovered the low fat raw vegan/811 principles which I was excited about but I honestly feel it's a bit over restrictive (I like that its low fat but I don't think its necessary to go as far to eliminate spices, vinegar, etc.) I think it is overshooting my original goals.