Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Dried fruit binges

I love being raw and find the thought of a lot of cooked food makes me feel very upset to my stomach. That said you can imagine i rarely crave cooked food. However, i do go on dried fruit binges. I find myself eating alot of dried fruit during class (i am a college student) among many other times. I know eating this much is not good for me, because of the high sugar, low h2o content etc. That and the little “pooch” that has developed under my belly button. Any suggestions on how to control the cravings?

Comments

• i’m totally experiencing the same problem. It’s like, i can either totally avoid all dried fruit, or i want as much of it as possible. i loooove sweets. i’m doing a dry-fruit fast this week because my dependency on them got a little too intense.

• JoescJoesc Raw Master

If you craving sweets I read somewhere that it could be because your body is lacking protein. I would try to consume more greens.

• Thank you, im glad im not the only one out there with the sweet problem. Joesc you are probably right. My family supports the way i eat and are trying to incorporate more raw in their diet. So my dad bought me ALOT of fruit so thats all ive been eating because i didnt want it to get ripe on me. I will definitly try more greens…thanks for the tip

• chriscarltonchriscarlton Raw Newbie

In my first year of attempting to be 100% my binges almost always led me to discover that the object of my desire was a non raw item. Tahini, Nori, Olives and yes even Dried Fruit. You can get dried fruit that is raw but it is very rare. Dried fruit is often cooked twice. Many times it is blanched first, then also dried at temps above 110f.