Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

evil awful gas

Hi All – I am in serious need of advice. I love being raw, but it is ruining my life. Since going raw (4 months raw, 2 of those 99% raw) I have gotten the most horrible gas. It is like something died in my belly. I don’t know what to do.

Years ago when I switched to a mostly vegetable diet I got gas which would go away when I would eat a grain or meat meal. I could have gone all fruits and veggies then, but just could not allow myself to be hindered so. I am a teacher and could not eat vegetables for lunch for fear of not being able to go my afternoon classes! After about 6 months my body adjusted and was fine.

My new raw problem is much worse though. I follow the basics of food combining, I’ve tried all mono meals, I am at a loss. Wouldn’t it be tragic if I had all of the motivation and ability to stay raw, but failed because of flatulence? Sigh. Does anyone know something I don’t? Has this happened to anyone else?

Comments

• i’m only starting my third week of all raw, and before that was i vegan, but i always had gas. it was HORRIBLE during that first week and a half though.. then it seemed to die down. I would do a cleanse during my cooked vegan days and that usually helped rid me of the smelly gas. i fart all the time though, my friends just have to get used to it!

• Priceless OnePriceless One Raw Newbie

Sorry, no help here. My family is suffering too! I am really hoping that someone else pops in with some encouraging info!

• JoescJoesc Raw Master

I cannot relate as a vegan because I only had this issue as a pescetarian when I consumed dairy products or beans. My body became accustomed to the beans when I was a pescetarian and I didn’t flatulate any longer on a regular basis.

What are some of the things that you most commonly eat.