Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

80/10/10

sorry- i’m a noob to the raw lifestyle- i’m nearing the end to my first week being about 80-90% raw, i’ve been a bit tired, haven’t lost as much weight as i hoped i would and am starting to get grumpy. i’m hoping all three are parts of detoxing. I has a really bad diet before this- mostly convinience foods with a lot of preservatives, toxins and sodium, so i feel like i have a lotto detox.

anyways- to the topic titled- what is 80/10/10? I’ve read it a coupld of times and would like to know- i see it refrenced to weight loss.

an no, i’m not going raw solely for weight loss, don’t worry- although i have a lot to lose as i am technically obese at 208lbs and only 5’5”. I need emotional and mental stability, and to heal my relationship with food. so far I feel as if it is making a difference with the latter.

any tips? on anything?

so far this site has been uber helpful, so thanks.

Comments

• 80/10/10 is a raw diet designed by Dr. Douglas Graham that is 80% carbs, 10% protein, and 10% fat. Basically, you eat mostly fruit, with a large salad at the end of the day and you keep nuts, seeds, and avocados to a minimum.

More info can be found on his site: http://foodnsport.com/joomla/

And here’s a link to his book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/80-10-Diet/dp/1893831248/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1205542230&sr=8-1

• Personally I LOVE Dr. Grahams book!! It makes absolute perfect sense to me. I haven’t gotten there yet, but that’s my ultimate goal & I work on it every day. I’m definitely not one of those people who realize the immense benefits of raw foods and switches immediately. I wish I were.

• Luna bluLuna blu Raw Newbie

Not for me. If I keep fats to a minimum I am starving all the time! If i don’t add maca to my green smoothies (for protien) the same thing. Starving!!