Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

this is what raw almond butter tastes like!?

My raw almond butter came in the mail today (Artisana brand, 100% Raw Organic Almonds)! I was so excited, I opened it right away and stired it up real good and got ready to spread it on a banana. But first i popped a spoonful into my mouth and… whoa!? am I crazy? this tastes like it has cherries or something in it?! It was not what I expected (not sure what I expected, but the sweetness of it surprised me). So then I kind of freaked out and got worried it was labeled wrong or got mixed in with something else and decided not to eat it.
Was anyone else surprised when they tasted raw almond(or any raw nut) butter for the first time? I’ve been eating almond butter for a few years now but was buying the roasted kind before… I knew it wasn’t going to taste like roasted but it’s very different. Just wondering if this flavor is normal or if something really is wrong.

Comments

• No I think your almond butter is fine. It’s really different from the flavour of the roasted kind and it might take some adjusting to. It’s definately sweeter. I never really thought of it as tasting like cherries before. hmmm. But hey, almond butter tasting like cherries? am I the only one who thinks this CANNOT be a bad thing;)

• RawKidChefRawKidChef Raw Newbie

Well, I used to buy a raw almond butter brand that was refrigerated. It tasted great, just like one would imagine it to. I don’t eat nuts anymore but I don’t think it should taste sweet. As long as it tastes good, you’re fine. Just call Artisana and ask them if it’s supposed to taste sweet.

• amysueamysue Raw Newbie