How do I know?

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to eating raw. I have been reading up on the subject for about a year now. I am slowly transitioning, but am planning to be 100% by the new year.

Anyhow, even in all my reading, I am still unsure of how I know exactly what I can eat beyond fresh fruits and vegetables. It seems like a lot of things I thought were raw- I soon find out are actually not, for one reason or another.

Almonds, oats, any nuts, lara bars, raisins, etc. I guess are all not really raw? Am I mistaken? How do I know? What else is a safe bet besides just fruits and veggies? While I am transitioning, I’d like to throw a couple other things in with my daily menu…

Any advice/answers/suggestions are appreciated!!

-carlee

Comments

• TomsMomTomsMom Raw Newbie

I know what you mean. There is a lot of innocence about raw nuts, for example. “Raw” for nuts just means unroasted, and since many types of nuts are first hot-steamed in the shell for cleaning, they are not raw for us. In addition, some nuts are traditionally shelled using heat because of poisons, like cashews.

I call the growers and processors personally, and find out which method they use to clean shells. As an example, it is industry standard to clean pecans in the shell before they are shelled. Hot steam is usually used and that’s not good for the nut. However, bleach water(cold method) is being used more and more, and that leave the pecan inside totally raw.