Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Metal taste in my mouth

Hello. I started oil pulling today.

I used sunflower oil which didn't have much taste, after about 14 minutes the oil began to taste like metal...and it got stronger.

after 20 minutes, I spat it out. (white & frothy)

I washed my mouth out several times and then brushed them.

Anyways i still taste metal in my mouth. is this normal. im a little worried. do you think this is from detoxing metals from my system. i DID used to eat quite a bit of fish.

good thing though is i had a terrible tooth ache for about 2 days now and after about 6 minutes of oil pulling the pain completely went away, however now i have a little mucus and a small head ache.

Comments

• emtpdmomemtpdmom Raw Newbie

Megan Lyne, I have no personal experience with oil pulling, but I'll bump this to the front page for you. I know there are several "oil pullers" on the site and there have been previous discussions . . . but I think it's been a while. If you haven't already, you could try a search, just to see what is there.

• RawKarenRawKaren Raw Newbie

I have been doing this now for around 3 weeks using sesame oil, and weirdly, I have become quite addicted to it. I first started it in conjunction with the master cleanse as a way to get through the first few days of nausea and it works brilliantly. Things I have noticed are:

1. The mucus for the first few days is gross.

2. I used to have cracked heels - not too bad, but they have just about disappeared - all nice and smooth and not dry at all - even in summer!

3. It might be my imagination, but my teeth seem to be a little whiter.

I tend to oil pull whilst I am getting showered in the morning. To start with I could only manage 5 minutes, but now I can do up to about 20 minutes which I think is about the recommendation.

• CaresCares Raw Newbie