Fatty liver at 23 after a 9 year long 100% raw diet? (or is it A1AT?)

geicageica Raw Newbie

Anyone ever heard of such a thing?!

I'm 23, I have been eating 100% raw for 9 years now (yep, you got me right). I mainly eat fruit, vegetables, nuts from time to time. I'm not vegan so I have eggs maybe once a week or once in two weeks, meat about twice a month, fish or shellfish every so often. Nothing really exceptional... The foods I eat are, say, 98% fresh foods (not dehydrated prepared stuff). I'm not overweight (62kg for 1m72), I have normal energy levels (my usual low blood presure from time to time, but nothing much).

I have a 3 year old son, I am still breastfeeding him (scarcely now, but still). When I gave birth, I lost a LOT of blood, so much that 3 months after giving birth, my first blood test said I was at 0.7g/dl of hemoglobin, which is the limit at which doctors start to wonder if they should do a blood transfer (three months after giving birth!).

This week I went in to the doctor for a couple of checks (iron & vitamin D which have always been low) and to check for a genetic disorder that runs in my family. My family has a history of alpha-1 anti-trypsin deficiency. Basically, people who have that don't produce enough of a protein that controls an enzyme in the lungs which's purpose is to eat dead cells. If left uncontrolled, that enzyme eats good cells. It also affects the liver (I don't know in what way really, maybe the same).

The doctor wanted to do an echography of my liver - routinely, with the blood test. Turns out my liver is somewhat fatty (she didn't say it was really bad, but still).

She says it probably has nothing to do with my diet (I didn't even tell her I eat raw, just by seeing how I look she said that I must have a good diet - like I don't eat chips, chocolate and fried food day in and day out!) and that I'm just too young to have this now.

Nonetheless, I wonder...