Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

To shampoo or not to shampoo?

Comments

• SamiliciousSamilicious Raw Newbie

Hello everyone, I confess! I’ve been no-pooing solo for over 2 months—or maybe its been 3 months? I thought I can do this on my own, taking it casually, reading this forum once and a while…So far so good, EXTREME dandruff however. It get on my clothes, my pillow, etc. Another issue is that my head/hair kind of smells. Does anyone have any solutions for these two issues? Especially the hair smell? I’m thinking essential oils. If so, what scents do you guys recommend?

lol, I feel like I’ve been a hidden follower who finally reveals herself!

By the way, I use baking soda once in a while. And I recently used a bit of salt for the first time.

• amysueamysue Raw Newbie

Samilicious – that is a tricky one, I would have though 2 or 3 months would be enough time for your scalp to regulate itself. Before I rinse my hair I always give it a serious brushing with a wood bristle brush which gives it a super scalp massage. The essential oil that I always read about for hair and scalp is rosemary. Good luck, I hope this passes soon!

• Queenfluff – I was able to pick up most of what you said by reading the entire thread, but I wasn’t sure if there was anything that needed to be done as far as cleaning the scalp. As you can see from my photo, my hair isn’t very long, but neither is it a crew-cut (if it were, I’d just use a wash-cloth).

Out of curiosity, I haven’t washed my hair for 4 days now. I wouldn’t say it feels oily, more like I put too much pomade in it. But I can start to see little bits of dry skin from my scalp. I’ve never had dandruff before. The water here is pretty “hard” (lots of minerals), so I should probably get a shower-head water filter.

I’m not completely sold on this no-poo thing just yet.